October 19, 2021

Eddie rolls back the years to power Graigue-Ballycallan into Leinster final

EDDIE Brennan will lead Graigue-Ballycallan into the Leinster Intermediate Hurling Final after the Kilkenny club recorded an emphatic victory over Wexford’s St Mogue’s Fethard in today’s semi-final.

The 40-year-old, who was recently appointed new Laois boss, scored 1-1 from play as the Kilkenny champions ran out winners by a margin of 2-22 to 1-12.

Brennan and Sean Ryan hit the net in two devastating second-half minutes to seal the victory.

The Kilkenny club will meet Portlaoise in the provincial decider after the Laois side saw off Offaly’s Ballinamere by four points at O’Moore Park.

The Leinster JHC final will see Kilkenny champions Dunnamaggin face-off with Na Fianna of Meath after their respective victories today. Dunnamaggin easily defeated Dublin’s St Maurs in Callan, while Na Fianna had four points to spare over Taghmon-Camross of Wexford.

In the Munster JFC semi-finals, Beaufort scored 5-23 in a dominant victory over Michael Cusacks, while Cork’s Dromtarriffe enjoyed a 12-point win over Waterford champions Mount Sion.

The Munster JHC final will be contested by Cloughduv of Cork and Waterford’s Ballinameela after this afternoon’s semi-finals. Cloughduv beat Boherlahan Dualla by seven points and Ballinameela were four-point winners over Tournafulla.

Meanwhile, Sligo’s Easkey have been crowned Connacht JFC champions after their narrow win over Clonbur of Galway in the final. Walter Holleran’s goal 15 minutes from time proved the difference for Easkey, who won it with a last-minute point.

Round up of today’s results:


IHC semi-finals
St Mogue’s Fethard (Wexford) 1-12 Graigue-Ballycallan (Kilkenny) 1-12
Portlaoise (Laois) 3-13 Ballinamere (Offaly) 2-11

JHC semi-finals
Na Fianna (Meath) 3-12 Taghmon-Camross (Wexford) 2-13
Dunnamaggin (Kilkenny) 1-25 St Maur’s (Dublin) 0-8


JHC semi-finals
Ballinameela (Waterford) 1-15 Tournafulla (Limerick) 0-14
Boherlahan-Dualla (Tipperary) 0-12 Cloughduv (Cork) 1-16

JFC semi-finals
Beaufort (Kerry) 5-21 Michael Cusacks (Clare) 0-4
Mount Sion (Waterford) 0-10 Dromtarriffe (Cork) 2-16


JFC club final
Easkey (Sligo) 1-11 v Clonbur (Galway) 1-10


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *