September 21, 2023

Five Kilkenny schools chosen for new safe commute programme

Five schools in county Kilkenny have been selected for inclusion in a new programme promoting health and safety in school children.

They are among 170 schools selected nationally for the Safe Routes to School (SRTS) Programme, which supports walking and cycling infrastructure for primary and post-primary schools.

When the scheme was announced in March of this year, 932 schools (representing almost one in four schools in the state) expressed an interest in taking part.

The Safe Routes to School programme aims to create safer walking and cycling routes within communities, alleviate congestion at the school gates and increase the number of students who walk or cycle to school by providing walking and cycling facilities.

The improvements to the school commute range from an upgraded footpath or new cycle lane to a complete reworking of the road outside a school’s entrance. Cycle and scooter parking will be provided to most schools that are part of the programme.

The five successful Kilkenny schools are all located within the city and are CBS Secondary School, Loreto Secondary School, St John of God National School, St. Canice’s Co-ed. N.S, and St. Patrick’s B.N.S. Coote’s Lane in Kilkenny.

Speaking at the announcement of the successful schools, Transport Minister Eamon Ryan said: “Walking, scooting and cycling to school fosters independence, and is a healthy way for our young people to get around as well as helping us all to cut emissions and air pollution.

“We want to ensure they can do this in a safe way, through providing additional facilities in and close to schools.

“This is the first phase of the Safe Routes to School Programme which I look forward to expanding in the years ahead,” the minister added.


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *