December 5, 2023

The new cabinet: Who got what in the Government carve-up

The new Cabinet has been decided by Taoiseach Micheál Martin, Fine Gael leader Leo Varadkar and Eamon Ryan of the Green Party.

The Dáil is currently sitting in the Convention Centre to ratify their positions before they travel to Dublin Castle to receive their seals of office from President Michael D Higgins.

The three party leaders are carving up the 15 cabinet seats between their parties in a six-six-three Fianna Fáil-Fine Gael-Green Party split.

According to RTÉ the following posiitions have been decided:

  • Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin has already been elected Taoiseach while Mr Varadkar is the presumptive Tánaiste.
  • Stephen Donnelly (FF) is the new Minister for Health.
  • Darragh O’Brien (FF) has been given the Housing portfolio.
  • Barry Cowen (FF) is the new Minister for Agriculture.
  • Norma Foley (FF) is the new Education Minister.
  • Michael McGrath (FF) is the new Minister for Public Expenditure.
  • Paschal Donohoe (FG) remains as Minister for Finance.
  • Helen McEntee (FG) is set to become the new Justice Minister.
  • Simon Coveney (FG) is tipped to remain in Foreign Affairs.
  • Eamon Ryan (Greens) will be the Minister for Transport, Energy and Climate.
  • Catherine Martin (Greens) will be Minister for Communications and Culture.
  • Roderic O’Gorman (Greens) will become Minister for Children and Disability.
  • Heather Humphreys (FG) is the new Minister for Rural Affairs.
  • Simon Harris (FG) will be Minister for Higher Education and Research.
  • Hildegarde Naughton is the new Fine Gael super junior minister.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *