December 2, 2023
News Sport

Tipp-ing point: Murphy’s late, late injury time winner secures dramatic win for Cats

EOIN Murphy struck a beautiful late, late injury time winner as Kilkenny edged out Tipperary by a single point in today’s National Hurling League clash at Semple Stadium.

Noel McGrath had the Premier County ahead by one as the game entered into additional time before Richie Hogan levelled it again for the visitors.

And Brian Cody’s side took their late chance to win it after Paudie Maher handled the ball on the ground and Murphy made no mistake.

The tempo of the opening half didn’t rise to any great heights between the two old rivals but there was still just a point between them at the break, with both sides guilty of missing lost of chances.

Kilkenny made the better start to the second-half. Two frees from Murphy extended their lead to a goal.

Martin Keoghan got Kilkenny’s first score in 21 minutes when he scored with five minutes left on the clock. Then Inistioge’s Richie Leahy tied the scores after a good ball across from Richie Hogan.

Jason Forde responded with a free for Tipp to restore their lead. But then Murphy went out and landed the first of his points from halfway on the right.

The home fans were sure they had won it when Noel McGrath edged them in front in the first minute of injury-time, but the Cats refused to die and came back with a final rally.

Hogan landed the equalising point in the second minute of added time before Murphy snatched it at the death when he hit the winning free from 75 metres.

Tipperary: Paul Maher; Alan Flynn, James Barry, Ronan Maher; Séamus Kennedy (0-01), Paudie Maher, Robert Byrne (0-01); Michael Breen, Noel McGrath (0-02); Patrick Maher, Willie Connors, Jason Forde (0-02, 0-02f); John O’Dwyer (0-04), Séamus Callanan (0-05, 0-04f), Niall O’Meara (0-02).

Subs: Jake Morris for Connors (42), Joe O’Dwyer for Kennedy (48), John McGrath for Patrick Maher (55), Ger Browne for Breen (67).

Kilkenny: Eoin Murphy (0-02, 0-02f); Paul Murphy, Conor Delaney, Tommy Walsh; Conor Fogarty, Paddy Deegan, Jason Cleere; Padraig Walsh (0-02), Alan Murphy (0-07, 0-07f); John Donnelly, Walter Walsh (0-02), Ger Malone (0-01); Billy Ryan (0-01), Liam Blanchfield, Martin Keoghan (0-01).

Subs: Richie Leahy (0-01) for Donnelly (42), Richie Hogan (0-01) for Malone (52), James Maher for Murphy (52), Niall Brassil for Blanchfield (68).

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick).




Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *