February 25, 2024

ELECTION 2020: Count 8 – Murnane O’Connor and Phelan take third and fourth seats in Carlow-Kilkenny

Carlow-Kilkenny has a new female TD.

Fianna Fáil’s Jennifer Murnane O’Connor (FF) has been elected to the 33rd Dáil after the eighth count in the constituency battle of the 2020 General Election.

She is joined by sitting Fine Gael TD John Paul Phelan, who was also elected on the eighth count at the Lyrath Estate Conference Centre earlier.

All eyes are now on the battle for the fifth and final seat between sitting TD Bobby Aylward and the Green’s Malcolm Noonan.

The drama continues. The ninth count is now underway.

Carlow-Kilkenny Constituency: Results after Count 8 

*FUNCHION, Kathleen SF 17,493  COUNT 1 (Elected)
*McGUINNESS, John FF 12,612 +411 (Elected)
*PHELAN, John Paul FG 13,172 +3,624 (Elected)
MURNANE O’CONNOR, Jennifer FF 12,839 (Elected)

NOONAN, Malcolm GP 9,891 +483
*AYLWARD, Bobby FF 9,174 +355


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *