July 14, 2024
News Sport

Dubs up first for Cats: Leinster Hurling Championship 2020 fixtures announced


KILKENNY will take on Dublin in the opening round of the 2020 Leinster Hurling Championship.

The Leinster Council announced the fixtures this morning and the Cats have possibly the best draw, having the bye week on the third weekend.

Kilkenny face Eddie Brennan’s Laois in the second round of matches, then getting a three-week break before they travel to Pearse Stadium to face the managerless Galway. Last up then is a rematch of this year’s Leinster Final versus Wexford, back in Nowlan Park.

The first game will be played on May 9 or May 10 with the last game on June 13 or June 14.  So two teams will be out of the championship before they the date they traditionally started.

The provincial round robin will be played over five weeks, while the rest of the championship will be played out over nine.

The full 2020 Leinster Hurling Championship fixtures list is:

Round 1, May 9/10:

Dublin v Kilkenny

Laois v Galway

Round 2, May 16/17:

Kilkenny v Laois

Wexford v Dublin

Round 3A, May 23/24:

Wexford v Galway

Round 3B, May 30/31:

Dublin v Laois

Round 4, 6/7 June:

Laois v Wexford

Galway v Kilkenny

Round 5, 13/14 June:

Kilkenny v Wexford

Galway v Dublin

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *