February 29, 2024

ELECTION 2020: Count 6 – McGuinness finally reaches quota to take seat, counting to resume in morning

Kilkenny’s traditional poll topper John McGuinness has been re-elected to Dáil Éireann at the sixth count in the Carlow Kilkenny constituency battle of the 2020 General Election.

The outspoken Fianna Fáil TD has to settle for second place this time around after Kathleen Funchion polled 17,493 first preference votes on the back of a strong local campaign and Sinn Féin surge across the country.

And if Deputy McGuinness has his way following his call earlier for Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin to open talks with Sinn Féin about the possibility of forming a new government, the two Kilkenny-based TDs could find themselves serving in the next Cabinet together if the numbers dictate.

Deputy McGuinness was elected at the sixth count at the Lyrath Estate Conference Tonight after he finally surpassed the quota of 12,274 votes. Solidarity-People Before Profit candidate Adrienna Wallace has been eliminated.

Elsewhere, John Paul Phelan got a much-needed bump from his running mate Patrick O’Neill, which puts him well ahead of party colleague Pat Deering.

Fianna Fáil are now looking good for a three seats in Carlow-Kilkenny, with Phelan likely to take the seat for Fine Gael.

But that will all have to wait until tomorrow as the count has now adjourned for the night.

Counting will recommence at 10am tomorrow.

General Election 2020, Carlow-Kilkenny Constituency – Count 6:

Quota: 12,274

*FUNCHION, Kathleen SF 17,493 * COUNT 1 (Elected)
*McGUINNESS, John FF 12,612 * +411 (Elected)
MURNANE O’CONNOR, Jennifer FF 10,333 +80
PHELAN, John Paul FG 9,429 +2,454
AYLWARD, Bobby FF 8,642 +234
NOONAN, Malcolm GP 7,313 +235
DEERING, Pat FG 6,995 +575

WALLACE, Adrienne SOL-PBP 4,823 +47 

*Sitting TDs



Related Posts

  1. Elena Antonio says:

    This is a testimony that I will tell everyone to hear. i have been married for 4 years and on the fifth year of my marriage, another woman had a spell to take my lover away from me and my husband left me and the kids and we have suffered for 2 years until i meant a post where this man Dr.Wealthy have helped someone and i decided to give him a try to help me bring my love Husband home and believe me i just send my picture to him and that of my husband and after 48 hours as he have told me, i saw a car drove into the house and behold it was my husband and he have come to me and the kids and that is why i am happy to make everyone of you in similar issues to meet with this man and have your lover back to your self His email: wealthylovespell@gmail.com or you can also contact him or whatsapp him on this +2348105150446…..  thank so much Dr.Wealthy. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *