February 5, 2023

ELECTIONS 2019: First new faces elected to Kilkenny County Council

THE FINAL count is in for Castlecomer – and Kilkenny County Council has its first new members.

The last count in North Kilkenny saw newcomer Fianna Fáil candidate Michael Delaney elected after transfers gave him a total vote of 1,520.

And Labour’s Denis Hynes (pictured above with outgoing Cllr Maurice Shortall) took the final seat in the constituency after transfers left him with a total of 1,403 – leading Fine Gael’s Pat O’Neill Snr by more than 300 votes.

The result is a huge boost to Mr Hynes, who will also be representing Labour in the Carlow-Kilkenny constituency during the next General Election.

Fine Gael now have five seats on the new local authority, behind Fianna Fáil on six, Labour with two and the Greens’ Malcolm Noonan making up the rest of the elected council members.

Kilkenny County Council 2019 – Your Elected Members (and first preference votes)

Pat Fitzpatrick (FF) – 2,249
Mary Hilda Kavanagh (FG) – 1,955
Michael McCarthy (FF) – 1,951
John Brennan (FG) – 1,493
Michael Delaney (FF) – 936
Denis Hynes (Labour) – 1,407

Kilkenny City:
Andrew McGuinness (FF) – 1,860
Malcolm Noonan (Green) – 1,485
Joe Malone (FF) – 1,271
David Fitzgerald (FG) – 1,236

Peter ‘Chap’ Cleere (FF) – 1,949
Matt Doran (FF) – 1,839

Pat Dunphy (FG) – 1,579
Tomás Breathnach (Labour) – 1,516

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *