August 17, 2022

ELECTIONS 2019: Half Kilkenny Council members now elected – but still no new faces

LABOUR have claimed their first seat in the Kilkenny 2019 local election.

Tomás Breathnach has become the twelfth elected councillor after he was elected in the first round of voting in Piltown behind Fine Gael’s Pat Dunphy, who topped the local poll with 1,579 first preference votes.

It’s taken some time for the Piltown votes to come through, but the results so far – as in all the other Kilkenny electoral areas – are in line with the earlier tallies.

Fine Gael now have four seats on the new local authority, behind Fianna Fáil on six, with Labour the Greens’ Malcolm Noonan making up the rest of the elected council members.

So far all of the elected members in Kilkenny are sitting councillors – we’ve yet to see a new face break through the ranks in any of the county’s four electoral areas

Kilkenny County Council 2019 – Your Elected Members  

Pat Fitzpatrick (FF) – 2,249
Mary Hida Kavanagh (FG) – 1,955
Michael McCarthy (FF) – 1,951
John Brennan (FG) – 1,493

Kilkenny City:
Andrew McGuinness (FF) – 1,860
Malcolm Noonan (Green) – 1,485
Joe Malone (FF) – 1,271
David Fitzgerald (FG) – 1,236

Peter ‘Chap’ Cleere (FF) – 1,949
Matt Doran (FF) – 1,839

Pat Dunphy (FG) – 1,579
Tomás Breathnach (Labour) – 1,579

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *