October 31, 2020

Kilkenny garda division set to merge with Waterford


KILKENNY is to be part of a new garda region that will stretch as far north as Meath.

The Kilkenny/ Carlow divisional unit is set to double in size as it merges with the Waterford division.

In the biggest shake-up of the regional garda structure in years, Kilkenny will become part of the newly formed Eastern region.

The new Eastern region will see a break-up of the old South East region, with County Tipperary moving to a new Southern region, with Cork, Kerry Limerick, and Clare.

Kilkenny will be joined in the new Eastern region by neighbours, Wexford, Carlow, and Waterford, as well as Laois, Offaly, Kildare, Wicklow, Meath, and Westmeath.

The Government is set to cut the number of garda divisions from 28 to 18, and regions cut from six to four. New divisional and regional garda headquarters will have to be selected.




Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *