July 12, 2024

Kilkenny Council unveils new leader and district mayors

Kilkenny County Council has a new Cathaoirleach. Meanwhile, Kilkenny’s municipal district mayors have also been announced.

Councillor Fidelis Doherty (FG) was elected as Cathaoirleach at the recent council AGM.

The newly elected Cathaoirleach expressed her pride at taking over the role of Kilkenny’s first citizen and comes from a political background.

She follows in her grandfather’s footsteps, who was formerly a TD and Kilkenny Councillor.

Cllr Michael McCarthy (FF) has been elected Leas Cathaoirleach of the Council for the coming year.

Cllr Michael Doyle (FG) is the new Chairperson of the Callan/Thomastown Municipal District, with Cllr Joe Lyons, (FG) named as Deputy Chairperson.

Cllr Pat Fitzpatrick (FF) has been elected Chairperson of the Castlecomer Municipal District, with Cllr Mary Hilda Cavanagh(FG) elected Deputy Chairperson.

Cllr Pat Dunphy (FG) was elected Chairperson of the Piltown Municipal District with Cllr Fidelis Doherty (FG) elected Deputy Chairperson.


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *