September 23, 2023
News What's On

Drop the mic: Irish radio stars flock to Kilkenny for gala awards night


THE great and the good of Irish radio will be stationed in Kilkenny this evening for the industry’s annual award show.​

The IMRO National Radio Awards are being held in Kilkenny’s Lyrath Estate hotel tonight and will see up to 1,000 guests, presenters, producers, researchers, journalists from all over Ireland battle it out to be named the very best in Irish radio broadcasting.

There are 40 awards up for grabs and a couple of local stations are up for a number of gongs. KCLR’s been shortlisted in the best Sports Programme category while BEAT102-103 is up for Best Breakfast Programme, Best Documentary, Debbie Ridgard is up for Best Sports Broadcaster and Dave Hammond for Best Radio DJ of the Year.

There are special lifetime achievement awards for Paul Byrne of Radio Kerry, Ronan Collins of RTE Radio 1, Seamus McKee of BBC Radio Ulster and Newstalk’s Sean Moncrieff, all of whom will be inducted into the Irish Radio Hall of Fame.

The awards begin at 6pm this evening and will be hosted by Today FM’s Dermot Whelan.


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *