June 6, 2023
News Sport

Five star performance for Kilkenny at 2018 Camogie All-Stars

FIVE of Kilkenny’s camogie stars have been honoured with All-Stars.

The All-Ireland finalists – who lost out to Cork on the narrowest of margins – trailed the Rebels again as the champions led the way with seven players on the 2018 Camogie All-Stars team.

All-Ireland semi-finalists Galway and Tipperary received one award each. One more from Waterford completed the 2018 selection.

Kilkenny and Cork contested the Division 1 Littlewoods Camogie League final earlier this year, with the Cats coming out on top and securing three in-a-row in the process.

On the list of 45 nominees, Kilkenny came up trumps with 14 while Cork were next in line with 12. But the reigning All-Ireland champions dominated the final selection.

Grace Walsh picked up her first All-Star accolade at corner back while six-time winner Anne Dalton took the number six jersey. Meighan Farrell was recognised in midfield while attacking duo Katie Power and Denise Gaule were also named on the All-Stars team.

The players were presented with their awards at the Liberty Insurance Camogie All-Stars banquet in the CityWest Hotel last night.

2018 All-Stars team sponsored by Liberty Insurance:

Goalkeeper: Aoife Murray (Cork) – 8th Time Winner

Right Corner Back: Grace Walsh (Kilkenny) – 1st Time Winner
Full-Back: Sarah Dervan (Galway) – 5th Time Winner
Left Corner Back: Pamela Mackey (Cork) – 4th Time Winner

Right Half-Back: Hannah Looney (Cork) – 1st Time Winner
Centre Half-Back: Anne Dalton (Kilkenny) – 6th Time Winner
Left Half-Back: Chloe Sigerson (Cork) – 1st Time Winner (Won Intermediate Soaring Stars Award in 2016)

Midfield: Gemma O’Connor (Cork) – 11th Time Winner
Midfield: Meighan Farrell (Kilkenny) – 3rd Time Winner

Right Half-Forward: Orla Cotter (Cork) – 6th Time Winner
Centre Half-Forward: Katie Power (Kilkenny) – 4th Time Winner
Left Half-Forward: Denise Gaule (Kilkenny) – 2nd Time Winner

Right Corner Forward: Katrina Mackey (Cork) – 5th Time Winner
Full Forward: Cáit Devane (Tipperary) – 1st Time Winner
Left Corner Forward: Beth Carton (Waterford) – 1st Time Winner (Won Intermediate Soaring Stars Award in 2015)


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *