February 7, 2023

General Election 2020: All the candidates for the Carlow/ Kilkenny constituency

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar this afternoon visited Áras an Uachtaráin to ask President Michael D Higgins to dissolve the 32nd Dáil Éireann.

We now face into 23 days of what will certainly be intensive, divisive and intriguing campaigning for the 159 available Dáil seats.

Experts and analysts alike think this election could hark back to the days of the early 80s, when it took three elections over an 18 month period to finally settle on a workable Government.

The bookies have Fianna Fáil favourite to take the most seats, but so tight is this election expected to be they also believe they will win just one seat more than Fine Gael.

Experts expect big gains from the Green Party with marginal gains for Labour and Fianna Fáil. Fine Gael are predicted to hold what they have, while some say Sinn Féin might feel a slight squeeze.

The smaller parties, Solidarity – PBP, the Social Democrats and Independent TDs may be on the receiving end of a voting whipping.

In the Carlow/ Kilkenny constituency five seats are up for grabs and all the sitting TDs are back in the race.

Here is a full up-to date list of all those declared to run as of 4pm today.


Deputy Bobby Aylward, Fianna Fáil

Mullinavat, Kilkenny

Deputy Pat Deering, Fine Gael

Rathnapish, Carlow

Deputy Kathleen Funchion, Sinn Féin

Kilkenny City

Cllr Denis Hynes, The Labour Party

Goresbridge, Kilkenny

Deputy John McGuinness, Fianna Fáil

Kilkenny City

Senator Jennifer Murnane O’Connor, Fianna Fáil

Graiguecullen, Carlow

Cllr Malcolm Noonan, Green Party

Kilkenny City

Melissa O’Neill, Irish Freedom Party

Ferrybank, Kilkenny

Cllr Patrick O’Neill, Fine Gael

Bennettsbridge, Kilkenny

Deputy John Paul Phelan, Fine Gael

Ferrybank, Kilkenny

Cllr Adrienne Wallace, People Before Profit

Rathnapish, Carlow

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *